Tempura Udon

So I’ve been sitting on these dry udon noodles and I’ve finally decided today was the day we were going to cook them and make udon.  Perhaps we got in a little over our heads.  We decided we were gonna do Tempura Udon.  My grandmother and I had never cooked Tempura either.  We decided to do chicken since she had already taken out some breasts for lunch at breakfast time.

Well this isn’t your normal Udon since I didnt’ have any dashi stock unfortunately.  And since I didn’t have the items available to create it within a one hour 1-way drive it just wasn’t an option.  So we made our own chicken broth from scratch.

 

I also cooked the noodles aside from that and then washed them in cold water and set them aside for the time being while we were preparing the veggies and chicken for frying.  I divided it into three portions for the three of us.

For our veggies we decided that we would fry cauliflower, snap peas, carrots, and sweet potatoes.  These were all cut very thin like french fries I suppose.  I wish I had taken a picture before hand but I didn’t think to do that.  Unfotunatly the finished product isn’t the prettiest, but it is very tasty.  we left the veggies kind of clumped together, but maybe our batter was a little TOO clumpy and so it came out a little thicker that some might like.  However it was very good.

I don’t have a picture of the chicken alone, but I do have the next picture of the finished product.  I added some chopped green onion tops and chili powder and also a little soy sauce as well as an egg.  The finished product…amazing.  I do look forward to the real thing.


I have another set of noodles left that I set aside in the fridge which I plan to use tomorrow with a dipping sauce.  I’m not sure what its called when you do it with Udon, but I had Zaru Soba that way and it was fantastic, so I’m sure cold udon with a pork dipping sauce will be good.

Categories: Cooking | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Tempura Udon

  1. superscheu

    to answer you question. cold udon is zaru udon! lol, easy eh?

    while i’ve never quite seen udon/tempura like that, it sure looks good!

    • lol, yea well I suppose that is pretty simple. Well I’ll have zaru udon tomorrow then.

      And the tempura looks bad, but tastes so good haha.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

