popping corn

So living with my grandparents I seem to be revisiting alot of memories from my childhood.  One of which I’m sharing with you now.  Popping corn.  Now the reason I say it that way instead of pop-corn is because we actually go through the steps of making it instead of just taking a bag out and putting it in the microwave.

This process is a little different then the process from when I was a kid because when I was a kid there was an electronic popper that didn’t involve the microwave at all.  Back then we used popcorn oil or peanut oil usually.  And it had a little metal stirring rod that would stir the kernels in the oil after they were hot so they would pop instead of burn.  If we really wanted to be old school and it was winter, my grandmother also had a cast-iron pot that we would put in the fireplace that was made for popping corn as well.  That was interesting.  But didn’t work as well as the aforementioned device.

Now what you see pictured here is a little different.  There is a bowl with a paper tray in the bottom.  in the tray is the kernels and COCONUT OIL.  Then its put in the microwave for 2 1/2 minutes.  After that you put the butter on it.  Now what is not pictured is the popcorn salt.  My grandmother said it wasn’t necessary I said it definitely was.

Now the whole reason we ended up doing this is because I saw the container of coconut oil and asked what it was for.  I thought it was odd.  Apparently my grandmother has moved to that instead of peanut or olive oil because it is supposed to be the healthiest.  Interesting stuff, regardless this pop-corn is fantastic.  Just thought I’d share this.

Categories: Cooking | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “popping corn

  1. carol

    I used to have one of the electric poppers and it’s rare to see those used anywhere anymore. it may be weird, but I used to take a bowl or ranch and dip my popcorn in that, but only if it came out the electric popper… there’s a different taste to it than on the stove or bag popped.

    • haha, I’ve totally dipped popcorn in ranch before. Or melted cheese like a queso sauce. So I know exactly what you are talking about.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

